Somato-Respiratory Integration

We wear our stress response in our bodies as defense postures. These structural distortions, tension patterns and subluxations are a testimony to, and physical anchor for, events that overwhelm our body-minds and keep us tied to our dis-ease.

Reconnecting the body to its experience

Somato (Body) Respiratory (Breathing) Integration (SRI) exercises (based on Donald Epstein’s book The 12 Stages of Healing) are designed to help the brain to reconnect with the body and its experience through focused attention, gentle breath, movement and touch. These exercises consistently reverse the process of defense physiology, spinal distortion and the disconnection that hinders the progression in chiropractic care.

Through this reconnection, practice members are able to instantly shift their state of consciousness away from past addictions, anxieties, or depression to a thought process that supports trust for the body-mind and their life experience which promotes increased peace, ease, healing and empowerment.

This can provide patients with acute symptoms with the tools they need to help dispel fear, low-confidence, and low self-esteem by encouraging trust in the body or the patient’s experience of the body. The exercises can also be helpful to the practitioner in communicating the brain/body/emotion/stress connection.

Find your peace with SRI

Each of the exercises in this series of twelve represents a unique state of awareness and different somatic-respiratory rhythm. As an individual advances in their own healing journey, they are able to move on to new exercises to support that growth and development. For those seeking evolving strategies for the future of their practices, look no further – SRI exercises offer you new options to experience your body and your personal healing.

12 stages of healing overview

Discover Care
Stage 1- Connect to the body
Stage 2- Acknowledge the differences
Stage 3 – Amplify and acknowledge the “stuckness”
Stage 4 – Build chi in the area of frustration or peaceful waiting

Transform Care
Stage 5 – Move energy from the lower and upper body to the middle while increasing emotional energy and merging beyond lower mind
Stage 6 – Stir the soup of energy and localized body region that is ready to erupt
Stage 7 – Focus, redirection and intensification of energy converting from the upper and lower body. Draw chi from the environment to active resolution of embodied defense/energetic/structural patterns.
Stage 8 – Awareness of experience of expansiveness, space, and rhythm in stillness.

Awaken Care
Stage 9 – Experience of the expanded self-being filled with light, love, grace; witnessing from the expanded self.
Stage 10 – Merge beyond the illusion of separateness from one love, one light and one creative source.
Stage 11- Build qi and share love and knowingness of “why one is here” with others; expanding the range of one’s courage and love
Stage 12 – Experience the range of continuum of energies and expressions through the body; embody all 12 stages and the wisdom and gifts we bring to one another; giving and receiving are not separate or different, but flow from one into another as we are all part of the same one.